Skip Top Navigation

Eastern Region Facts

The Washington State Department of Transportation/Eastern Region is based in Spokane, Washington. We build and maintain the state-owned highway system over a seven county region in the northeast portion of the state.

Engineering and support services are located in Spokane. Engineers design and manage highway construction projects and inspect the work of private contractors to ensure that projects are built to specifications.

The Maintenance Division has four areas with offices in Spokane, Colfax, Davenport, and Colville. Maintenance crews are based in equipment sheds throughout the seven county region. Maintenance is responsible for the day-to-day upkeep of the system, as well as snow and ice control in the winter months.


The Eastern Region consists of seven counties:

  • Adams
  • Ferry
  • Lincoln
  • Pend Oreille
  • Spokane
  • Stevens
  • Whitman
  • portions of Franklin county

Number of State Highway Miles Throughout the Eastern Region:
All Region State Highways
Centerline Miles = 1,566.82
Lane Miles = 3,654.18

State Highway Surface Types

Surface Type
Bituminous Surface Treatment

Centerline Miles

Lane Miles

State Highway Bridges

314 Total Bridge Structures

State Highway Traffic Signals (Operated by WSDOT)

SR 2
SR 27
SR 90

SR 195 
SR 395
SR 904

  9 Intersections
  2 Ramp Intersections
17 Ramp Intersections (Including SR 27's 2 Ramp Intersections)
  3 Intersections
  7 Intersections
  3 Intersections
40 Signal Systems

*There are also 5 span wire flashers located within the Eastern Region.